Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
"Wishing for the Impossible"

2002-02-06

It's snowing in February
As if God
Or something else entirely
Has decided to bury the
Sins of this city
Under flakes of white
While I sit comfortable in my chair
Unconcerned with the drowning guilt
Of the overglorified town
In which I live
I have catalouged the mistakes
Of the bible belt
A thousand times over
I have de-mystified the myriad
Mysteries of the universe
And placed them into
Plain enough English
So that even the morons
That circle my city
Like vultures can understand them
I have spit out
Darts of poison
That question authority of all kinds
And cause even the dim to
Think for themselves
I have blatently blasphemed
And praised both creator and creation
All in the same three minute doses
Caused wars to break out
Between the hearts and minds
Of men who thought
They were safe in thier ignorance
I bring pain and joy
Into every room I step into
Just by the act of doing so
And rejoiced in the fear
I've caused within certain people
A part of me wants to be
Ashamed of that last part
Because while the fear I bring
Is just in the nature of who I am
That being someone who thinks
Vastly differently then your average individual
A part of me tells me
That it's wicked of me to enjoy it
But of course I enjoy
A great many contradictions
In my silly and fuzzy head
And so another part counters
That to not enjoy
The feelings I cause in others
Whether they be joy, fear, contentment, or nausia
Would be denying a very basic
And necessary part of
Who I am
I let them continue their debate
While the rest of my mind
Takes a ride to try and find
More plesant thoughts

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random