Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Abandoning Swine

2001-11-25

I have often heard the term
"A sea of humanity"
If there is such a thing
Then it must be behind
My recent shortness of breath
Each night as I lie awake
Before my brain
Can fall victim
To that predator we miscall sleep
I pray that I
Am not the greatest magician of this era
Not simply due to the responsibility
We all know I can't handle that
But because if I am
The great mystic of our age
Then this is a sad time indeed
I look back at those who
Came along this path before me
People like Moshea
Mathers
Levi
Blavatski
Regardie
Crowley
And so many others
These people were symbols of something
If sometimes mearly over-indulgence
And these people had great messages
Of hope for this chaotic world
And I know that I am
Well, let's face it
I'm simply not enough
To take a place next to them
But then I look at my contemporaries
And I stare in horror
At thier incompetence
They have dehumanized spirituality
By treating it as either
A toy or a beeker
They have dogmatized it
By recycling the same old crap
That someone else said better
Ages ago
Without adding any new perspectives
To keep it living
And then there are the charlatans
Who I won't even get started on
Because I could easily
Dedicate an entire poem
To listing thier types alone
And go over ten pages with it
I dare say
That there is more magick
In a Wednesday night poetry reading
Then in a million so-called initiates
And this saddens me to no end
I don't want to be
The spiritual voice of this time
But I look around and see
That I might very well be
~MattMagus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random