Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
JL Review

2001-11-18

This is a special mid-afternoon update from Raymond's house. I watched the Justice League caroon last night, and yes Jen, it did f'n rock!!! Although you just have to notice that both the big blue dork and the bat looked rather pitiful compared to J'onn (Martian Manhunter) and Hawk Woman/girl. The scene where the Hawk chick goes in and right out kills seven or eight of the aliens while ol' Supes watches in horror made my day. Meanwhile Bats get to be the Dues Ex Machina for the entire episode, but that kind of the way it should be with him. None of the others really ever know when he's going to make an entrance, but when he does he always makes an impact. I also particularly enjoyed the animosity between the big S and the bat, because that again, is the way it should be. I'm not sure how I feel about John Stewart being thier GL of choice. On one hand I can see why they made it him, but a part of me really wishes it could be Hal. I'm a little confused as to whether the Flash is Barry or Wally, but I'm sure they'll take care of that in due time. If it is Wally, then the GL should actually be Kyle, as much as I'm not fond of him, part of the thing that makes the recent revival of the JL comic title work is the interaction between Wally and Kyle, who are always at odds with being in this group that contains legends. I suppose that would be a little too much back story for the half-hour series though, even though the sub-plot of the two of them trying desperately to fill the shoes of thier predecesors (Barry and Hal) has always been interesting. All together a great first episode, and I can't wait to see the next (which I'll be taping since it comes on at the same time as Raw tomorrow, and Raws after PPV's are always cool). Anyway, that's it for now.
~MattMagus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random