Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Post-apokolyptic-homocidal blues

2001-11-16

Some days I feel
More animal than man
The only problem is
I'm not just one single animal
No
I have to be some amalgamation
Of at least three animals
That I know of, antway
My feet have often been mistaken
For talons by the hungover
Or those particularly sensitive
To the essence of things
As opposed to thier visual nature
And anyone who has ever foolishly loved me
Has felt the presense of the Tiger
It's there when I kiss you
So hard that your lips bleed
It's there when I grab you
By the back of your neck
And into my awaiting arms
With all the ferocity of a thunderstorm
And hold you so steadfast
That one might think that
Time could stand still
For this simple hug
You've seen a glimpse of it
When I get protective of you
Because I would take on the world
To keep you safe
And sometimes I get so angry
At those who've hurt you
That I want to throw down my staff
And let my feet to the talking
But sadly
You've seen him most often in those
Late night arguments
When the violence in my voice
Would become so great
That I sometimes think
I could kill gods with my words
Or when I'm on that stage
For my weekly six minutes of therapy
And my rage at all creatures
Great and small
Becomes the delight of a few onlookers
I don't think I'll mention the third animal tonight
Because he's the sort of thing
That one leaves to those
Private converstations
In the early morning hours

Well, fuck....that's it, that's all I have for you. I'm not quite sure what to think of it. It sounded much better in my head, but that's probably because I forgot about some of my ideas between that cigarette and the writing of the poem. I really need to get a fucking tape recorder for some of the things I come up with in my head that never get to make it to paper, because I always seem to forget them between what I'm currently doing and the writing process. My jumbled head is a mess of floating equations, mythology, at least three or four alphabets, and my own personal cast of characters that like to play a sitcom in my head ever now and then. But then, I'm always like this.

~MattMagus
~Victim of the bad press I create for myself

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random