Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Untitled new poem

2001-04-30

It's a warm night tonight
But for some reason
I'm still wearing my coat
And a long sleeve button up shirt
Listening to "Long December"
Always makes me exceptionally cold
It always brings a moment
Of frozen expectation
Expecting to see that
Long absent face of an old friend
Or lover
Or hell
I'm breaking the spell tonight
Whether anyone shows or not
Has become unimportant
Tonight I make peace
With the memory of you
With the memory of me
Tonight the cycle of tension
Must break
Or I will
On this night I want
To see you
Not for sentimental reasons
Not to tell you I care
I want to walk up and say
"I failed
And for that you can hate me
For as long as we both shall live
But I'm not going to run away
From the ghost of something
That died in 1996 anymore"

There...is that better?

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random