Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Blessed New Orleans (yet another damn poem, deal with it)

2001-04-15

I swear
The women of this ciy could make
A priest cheat on God
Here
Every girl you see
Is the prettiest girl you've ever seen
Or maybe that's the whiskey talking
Or maybe the absinthe
All the alcohol in the world
Can't seem to drown out
My romantization of everything
And everyone around me
Or replace it
With sheer urges of lust
Any woman here
Could make me fall in love
With but a whisper and a gentle touch

I told Tommy that this place was
"Twice the party of Vegas
Without all the bullshit and slot machines"
I guess I had forgotten the video poker
But those machines are actually few
Even the so-called "pretentious" Goths
Are friendlier than I am
And that bothers me

The uneven sidewalks tell stories
Of walkers long gone
The buildings still smell
Of wine and wormwood

A boy who looks like
He just stepped off
Of an ivy-league campus
Stands solitary
Playing an old accordian
While another of the most gorgeous women
I've ever seen
Walks back and forth
Between the cafe
And the cigar shop
Another seems to be
The daughter of the owner here
I wish I could walk up
And talk to these people
Get to know them
Where they came from
Why they're here
But all I can do
Is sit in this corner
Awed into silence
By how beautiful everything is

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random