Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
A New Poetry Reading in Norman, Ok

2002-03-17

Here I am, alive but not particularly well. Still, I'm better than I have been the past couple of days. Sorry for not updating in a while, but the sickness was so bad that the only thing I could do for a while was get up long enough to check my e-mail, maybe get something to eat, and then go right to bed, and that was with the help of medication.

I did managed to crawl out of my bed long enough to go to a reading in Norman on Thursday, again hurting myself by over-exerting myself during my performance. At least this time I didn't nearly pass out while on stage though. Now as far as I know, no one who reads this diary (except possibly Christophe, and I'm not even sure if he reads it) hails from the Norman area, but just in case anyone out there is reading this who lives in Norman, here are the details of this new poetry reading:

It's at Buzz's Subs, which is right behind the Del Rancho on the corner of 24th and Lindsay. It's a little hard to get to from Lindsay, because it's easy to mistake the parking lot of the Dollar General store for the route to get there. It's the building that looks an aweful lot like a castle (Well, not really, but the top of the building has a design similar to what most people think of when they think of castles). The readings are to be held every 2nd and 4th Thurday of the month. So there will be another one a week from this Thursday. (Meaning it will be on the 28th for those of you who don't read this on a daily basis). There is no official advertising of it in Norman proper due to certain laws in Norman, which makes the reading practically illegal. (Although if they try to enforce that law, I for one would like to help take this particular case to the Supreme Court, and would most cetainly be willing to do so, as those laws, if they are enforced for things like poetry reading violate more than one of the Bill of Rights). Also if it were enforced it would probably cause a great lawsuit because technically the same law should prohibit plays, concerts, and ballets at OU (and that especially so). But then, I'm rambling again aren't I? In any event, please show up and support this reading if you happen to live in the Norman area, or close enough to it that it would not inconvienence you to go there. This is especially true for poets, as we need more of you there.

In helping to advertise this I've tried to reach Christophe about it, mainly because his weekly newsletter reaches more Norman people then I can from this computer, and also because I know there are writers of various sorts amoung his list. The venue that we are holding this reading in has more potential than even Medina's had, and that's saying a lot considering how mythic that place was. It seems that Stage Door productions used to hold plays in the very same spot, and they comfortably seated 75 people per night. Now imagine that if you will, an audience of 75 for even a single poetry reading. That would be bigger than Galileo, and possibly even a tad bigger than Medina's in it's heyday. Better yet, there's even a definite stage to perform on, which is something that Galileo is completely missing and that Medina's well, let's face it, barely had (they had something of a stage, but it was rather tiny). From what I hear Therogy knows about the place, because they were scheduled to pratice there tonight (Saturday, March 16). Personally, I rather wish I could have gotten out there tonight to see it, but I wasn't able to. That's it for tonight's entry, unless I decide to write a poem in a little while.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random