Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
A quick little bit of a rant, that kind of becomes a story about...a fictional me...or something

2002-09-14

Finally, I'll get to go to the Lawton reading again tonight. I haven't been out there the last two months, mostly because my car is a piece of shit that couldn't handle the trip without some serious adjustment. That and I didn't really want to have to take the turnpike to get there, but since I live in OKC and get off work around 6:30 on Saturdays (reading starts at 8), I would kind of have to. Now if I could just get one of these Tuesdays off to go to the one in Tulsa. Maybe I'll ask for one off sometime next month.

Sometimes I think I want to go on a hallucinagenic(sp?) binge, but then I think about how I tend to get lost in my head as it is, and that starts to seem like a really bad idea. I can just see it now, I go on this little binge and become catatonic, not from trama, but because I never want to leave the little world built up in my mind. Somewhere years down the line, I can see myself finally getting the spark of recognizing the world around me back in my eyes. I take a good look around me and I say, "Damn I'm hungry, how long have I been out of it anyway?". The nurse looks over at me still in shock from me just coming to out of the blue and manages to stammer "t-t-t-ten years, sir". "Heh, at least they still make cute nurses. You wouldn't happen to have an extra cigarette, would you?". Of course, she wouldn't. "Bugger". Then I would get up and walk out.

(What you aren't supposed to see here is exactly 2 minutes later when I get tackled by interns and nurses who sedate me to keep me from leaving until I've "made a full recovery")

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random