Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Gopher Golf

2003-01-13

She says she worries like a jewish mother
And the irony is not lost on me
We don't talk enough
Even now
But in some ways
I think it's safer that way
For both of us
We should know by now
That soon after being
Around each other for too much
We try to tend to swim
Against the current of our emotions
And despite our logic
Begin to drift off the course
Of our individual lives
Acting as if
We had just swam upstream
For a really long time
As fun as that may sound
It tends to lead
To far more problems
Then are necessary

We talk for an hour
I spill my spirit's blood into her ears
And she does the same
I tell her that despite everything
I love her
And I always will
Then I threaten to bring
An apple to the ceramony
If I'm not invited
Of course,
She understands the joke
But pretends to be clueless
Inwardly I giggle
We've been playing these little
Jokes on each other's intellects
Since we met
And I can't say I mind
But I know that now
Things are serious
And while we will never
Get to slip into our comfortable habits again
It doesn't bother me
Her happiness
Is all that matters
Although,
The thought makes me a little sad
Because so few people
Seem to feel the same way

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random