Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
This is way too much crap to put down at once

2011-09-12

It's weird how when all you want to do is write, eight million things pop up that suddenly need your attention. I am currently naked save for a hat and my glasses. This is not at all sexy, but it is a hot day in Jackson, MS, and I stopped caring about clothing two hours ago.

I can already tell you that this is going to be one of those long, rambling entries that could probably use some judicious editing, as well as a good spell chacker. The first paragraph alone is an obvious indication of that, but this is usually where I used to do all my unfiltered and uneditited crap, so you should be used to it by now. It is called "Diaryland" after all, not, "Ready-to-be-Publishedland", which would make for a crappy title, anyhow.

People talk about blogging these days as if it's a detriment to society. It makes me wonder what some people are afraid of? The biggest blogger I used to know has maybe a thousand people who follow her shit regularly. A good chunk of people in her real life were afraid of people reading her blog and getting the wrong impression of them. Then went out of thier way to make asses of themselves over the internet regarding said blog. Now personally, I'm not going to take anything someone write down as the gospel of a persons character, but when said person reacts like a total douchebag in response to it, they then show me better then the origional writer can, what they are made of.

As for me I try not to give names when I talk my shit. This is for a couple of reasons. The first is that I'm absolutely aware that at any moment I might be "blowing off steam", and thus misrepresenting someone. The second is that there are a lot of stupid people in the world, who might not be able to read properly, and misinterpret anything I might say. That's how rumors often begin. Check certain celeb gossip sites, and really read the articles. These mysterious sources "close to" whomever, usually aren't that close, and usually get shit wrong. Unless the celeb in question wants to "leak" something, then that's another story entirely, and part of the weird paradox (or perhaps, hypocracy) of that life. The third reason I don't like to identify too many people is that I understand that while my memory is damn good, it is not perfect. Little details that are important to events, that might in fact, show them in a different light if they are known, might be missed. There are also things that can not be understood by anyone with an outside context.

All that having been said, I don't see the need for getting all upset when people do disclose identities. First off, anyone who takes what someone wrote in thier little "fuck-off" blog seriously is an idiot, and I don't need them around. Neither do you if you think about it. Secondly, we ARE ALL PRICKS SOMETIMES! This includes you. Yes, you. If someone calls us on it, then that's well and good. Get over it, and move on with your fucking life. Plenty of bad shit has been written about me over the years. Some of it deserved, some of it outright lies. I don't really give a shit either way. I could try to come clean and tell you the full truth, but what good does that really do? Even the people who have known you a long time will convince themselves that you are lying if it serves thier own twisted purposes or backwards logic. So you let go of those people and you move on. After all, how close could you have really been? There are people in this world who are just waiting for excuses to be shitty to you. To try to bring you down and make you into something less then you are. Sadly, this is usually due to a lack of self-worth on thier own parts, but you can't let that stop you from turning your back on them when it happens. You also can't let the actions of those few stop you from trusting other people until they prove otherwise, this was a mistake I made recently, and have come to regret it, albeit only slightly.

I am often too suspicious as it is, but that is something I need to work on, and generally irrelevant. It is, however, unfortunate that my suspicions turn out to be true more often then I like. Is paranoia really paranoia when you are often proven correct? A question I have often asked myself over the years, especially after I ignored those feelings only to have them justified. I will probably continue doing things the way I have been doing them though, and continue to be hurt by it, because I would rather be a fool for making the same mistakes then be an asshole for being suspicious and wrong. Besides, I know that those I've removed my light from because they've hurt me, suffer far worse then I do. It is much better to withdraw your light due to hurt, then to lose it completely.

On another note, I am current;y reading James Robinson's Starman, on the recomendation of the fine folks at Speeding Bullet Comics in Norman, OK. This is a fine shop that has been there on Porter for a long time, and has an excellent collection of Trades, both paperback and hardcover. The staff have all been quite
knowledgeable, and have yet to steer me wrong when looking for a new trade to start collecting.

As for Starman, there is a fine layer of pretentiousness, which I admit to being a sucker for, while underneath is a meaty story about a guy and his dad. Sure there's supervillians, sexual tones, both overt and otherwise, legacies, and all of the other wonderful jumbo that any DC title has, but this book excels in the quiet moments between all this. Looking at this title, years after its release and end, you can see a lot of things that other writers would rip off for their templates. The most noticable and successful of these "homages" being Geoff Johns during his JSA run. In turn, others would rip-off Johns, but none would do it nearly as well. Also, we see a lot of cannon for the DCU, pre-Flashpoint, naturally, being set in the pages of Starman. Even though there is the occasional "the company tells me I've gotta do a crossover" issue, through it all the basic story holds dominion. So far I have read the first threee volumes of the "Omnibus", and when I get back to OK next I will pick up the next three.
It's that damn good. There are a lot of books that give you tons of condiments and extras, but when you bite down into it, there's little or no meat. This story has a lot of meat, with just enough of the other stuff to add complex flavor to it.

I Think this is where I call it a night.

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random