Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
M. D. (and I'm not talking about a dr. here)

2001-12-12

When we met
You wore wings
And when you sang
I thought that indeed
Our little quiet reality
Had been invaded by an angel
I told you as much
I believe my words were
Something like
"So, I see the wings aren't
"Just an affectation"
And I walked away
I wasn't trying to be smooth
I wasn't trying to do anything
Except compliment you
And exit your life gracefully
I could have been content
With only that
The only problem
Is that you came back
To see me
And for the briefest of moments
I thought I actually had
Your attention
But that
Much like everything else about you
Was just a passing train
Headed to somewhere
Anywhere
That seemed like it could offer
More action
And over the next several years
I got to see you
As the hummingbird you really are
Never stopping to rest
And I would have caused the world
To stop it's rotation
If I could have
Brought you down
To me just for a moment
But I knew
That even a temporary cage
Would be too much

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random