Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
The Divine Melodrama

2001-12-02

I've tried to swim
Against the current
Of my own imagination
I have walked for so long
That I've felt my legs could fall off
But I kept walking anyway
It's the same way with writing
You can't wait for any inspiration
Or some divine mood
To strike you on the ass
Despite headaches and bad weather
Despite boredom and poverty
Both physical and mental
You must write
You have to force the words out
Sometimes
Like tonight
It will feel like your mind itself
Wants to shut down from the pressure
But write anyway
In order to be successful
In this endeavour I can't even
Rightfully call art
I will sacrifice everything
All ready I have turned in a career
A love life
My health
And at times
My very sanity itself
And I'll continue to sacrifice for it
All else is to be put up
For slaughter
If it means writing well
Or in the case of tonight
Just writing at all

~MattMagus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random