Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Paradigm Dancing

2001-11-21

I love you
I LOVE you
I love YOU
Love
Dove
Damn-hell-ass-above
These words are not me
I could try to give you equations
For all of life's little nuances
But that is not me
I could give you the answer
To all creation
But that isn't me either
Besides
Someone already did that
His name was Douglas Adams
And you probably ignored him too
Because you really don't want
To hear any of those things anyway
I know exactly what you want from me
And it scares my little shrinking mind
You want me to fill
You're lives with
Endless details about pain
And silly little heartbreak
For a long time now
I've indulged you
Filling you with trivial woes
For your amusment
And my own therapy
It it after all
Cheaper this way
But now the hurt is slightly better
And I'm tired of talking about it
Especially to you
Because where were you
When I was driving down that long expanse
Of pot-holes
Known as I-10
Singing as loudly as I could
To the stereo
To drown out my sobbing
And where were you
When I wandered into that little
Stip-club in New Orleans
To wash down my tears
With burbon
Where were you
When my anger and hurt
Started to fade away into
That shallow puddle known as hope
That hope that got deeper
With every passing moment
Staring at her
Gazing at the night sky
And finding warmth
In silence
Where were you
When my mobility
Was reduced to an 8ft by 8ft room
With two other people
One of whom could never
Seem to shut up
The walls would tell me of time bombs
That never went off
And whisper comfort
In passing footsteps
There are dozens of dreams
That you didn't watch
Because they weren't part of
Your programming schedule
So now I'm going to re-program you
And fill your head so full
Of my wishes
You'll start to think they're your own
And I'll drown you in your own tears
For having missed
The boy that was me
Discovering impossible worlds
Within small mountain towns
Together
We are going to finally see
What I am
~MattMagus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random