Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
This is an old poem, and if you're not down with that...well...you know the rest

2001-10-30

Some of you may actually be wondering where the quote came from that used to be at the top of this page. It's actually from a somewhat older than 3 year poem of mine. The title is "Me Being A Self-Indulgent Asshole", and I'm going to type it up for you right now.

-----------------------------

It's 2:30 am
And I'm having one of those stereotypical nights
Driving around
Smoking a clove cigarette
Listening to The Cure
And crying over spilt sperm
"Ain't Love grand", he said
As if I would know anymore
It's been so long since I've had
Anything but
One-night stands
And fuck-buddies
I'm beggining to doubt
If I would recognize what Love is
Looking too hard for it
In cobwebbed corners
Of a kitchen cabinet called Oklahoma
I realize I'm on the
Wrong side of Lindsay from where I want to be
I have to stop myself from looking at house numbers
It's not as if I want to see Her
I can't even deal with my little failures right now
What the hell would I say
To my single greatest personal failure?
"Hi...
"Um...
"Have you uhhh
"Heard the latest Tori Albumn yet?"
Think again dipshit
It's now 4 am
And I'm on my back patio
Drinking wine
Smoking another cigarette
And writing a bad attempt at poetry
Thinking about the time that got lost
In the translation

------------------------

So there you have it...now you know where that all came from. The poem was inspired by the actual events mentioned. "Ain't love grand" was something this random guy at 7-11 said to me. The rest came to me as I was driving around and blowing off a little steam.
~Matt

A tiny bit later

By the way...I noticed that most of the new visitors I've gotten have been through my profile. For those of you who think that maybe you know who I am...you probably do. If you know some 26 year old guy who lives in Oklahoma named Matt who has been going by Matt Magus as a stage name since he was 15 or 16, then yes, you know me. Those of you who actually thought my profile was interesting, please sign the guestbook and tell me why. I'd really like to know the things I can do to get people to read this site, and in what ways I can improve. Thank you again
~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random