Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Let's not give this one a title yet

2001-10-19

I'm sitting with a bottle of wine in my hand
Mogen David blackberry of course
Thinking about all those
Who've crossed my life and made it better

I can see Josh
As he was when we were young
Filled with the fear of asthma and
Youth's uncertainties
And I see him now
Salt and pepper hair
Air force officer for life
When so many others I know have failed
When I think of the journey
That he made
Between being the boy
And the man he is now
My heart swells with pride
To the size of Saturn
Remembering how we used to bask
In the eirie laughter
Of Dr. Demento Sundays
I remember how much he used to
Hate the music I was so fond of
The same music which now adornes
His own CD collection
And even though my anger
Can sometimes reach Andromeda
With the things we've sad and done
There will always be that secret happiness
Of knowing him

I see Heather
Lost to the world and herself
Constantly envigorated
By the kiss of Thespis
Flying high
If only in my mind
And the prayers of her husband
Though I once mistook
Our friendship for something else
I'll never regret
The long nights of laughter
Conversation
And shared back-rubs

I see Judson
Both as the child I met
And the man I know
Hiding himself in a world
Of his own design
Safe
Comfortable there

-------------------------------------

This Poem isn't finished, but I don't have time right now...I'll finish it later.
~MattMagus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random