Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
In the Mouth of Stupidness

2005-06-05

(note: I started writing this in my head while doing laundry...lets see how it turns out)

It's four in the morning
The End of December

~Leonard Cohen, Famous Blue Raincoat

voice 1, E: Oh, crap...there you go again
You know it's going to be pretty stupid
When you open with a quote from Cohen
The first thing your audience is going to think is
Yep, there's Matt again
Whine, whine, whine
Big f'n suprise

Voice 2, M: Why should I care what they think?
I didn't give much of a rat's ass
Back when I had no respect from either
The poets or the audience
So now that I've chainsawed my way
Into thier hearts and minds
Spit acid at them until
They started thinking it was honey
Why should I even pretend now
That I care about thier opinions?

E: Because now, you have a responsibility to the audience.
They've decided that at least some of the time,
what you are spewing
Is actually worth hearing.
So you should give them something
That might actually be.

M: So, are you saying that
my usual fare isn't quite
Good enough anymore?
That those feeling no longer have a place
In my writing
Just because people are actually listening to it now?
In case you've forgotten
It was that combination of
Venom and whining
That gave me the acceptance
I now enjoy
Or should enjoy anyway...

E: That's not it at all, you twit!
What I'm saying
Is that you got to attached
To your hand,
That flush of broken hearts

When you could still do better
With a staight flush
Of another suite.
Who knows,
If you drop your hand
You may come up
With something even better,
Or worse
But you have definitely
Been playing too long
With the same one

M: Come on now!
An overextented gambling metaphor...!

E: It sure beats
"Magic technicolor gumballs",
You remember that one?

M: First off, jackass,
That was ment to illustrate just how silly
Pretty imagry for it's own sake
Can get,
And was ment to show that life
Is usually far from pretty
Despite what some acid-heads might tell you...

E: Yeah, yeah, yeah...get over youself.
But that just shows how apt
What I'm talking about is,
Married to that line,
You didn't even think
Of other things you could have talked about
After all,
Sometimes life is pretty
And if you keep obsessing over the bad shit
You're going to look right past it
Even as you run right into it.
What happened to your
Sense of humor?
What happened to never
Taking yourself too seriously?

M: Damnit! That line was
Supposed to be a joke!

E: And yet, here you are defending it,
As if it were the most profound thing you've ever written
Instead of a jibe
At all the other cheesy lines out there.

M: Maybe I was being way too defensive,
But you know damn well how hard it's been for me
To be creative lately...

E: So to counter it, you are just going to
Fall back on the same old formula
Like a Hollywood producer
Who has never had an origional
Thought in his life?
Like those you can't stand?

M: Well, what do you suggest?

E: Why don't you try
Listening to yourself for a change?

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random