Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Blank Housecats

2002-07-12

You said that I'm not the same person
Who you fell in love with
And I know that you're right
Hell
I'm not even the same person I was yesterday
Although I may look it
I'm tired and aching and beaten down
And the fire and anger
That once set fires thousands of miles away
Seems to have burned out at last
Or maybe it's just well hidden now
I'm not exactly certain
But every now and again
I think I catch a whiff of familiar smoke
But that could be just a phantom memory
Of someone I might have been

I told you once
That I know you never ment to hurt me
But I've recently found out
That you never really did
Because I chose to bring that pain
Into my life
Though the course of a million actions in my life
I steered myself
Right into that canal of heartache
And considering that for the mere
Price of that pain
I got to live those moments
Sharing each of those experiances with you
I am glad for it

In a weird way
I knew how it would all end
Before it started
The details were the only variables
In our equation
But I ignored the warnings
And am glad I did
Otherwise I would have missed being a part
Of the life of someone so twistedly beautiful
That it stuns me beyond words
And the greatest tradgedy of all
Is that I also would have missed
The uncomperable friend
That I now have in you

-------------------------------------------

This poem is obviously for Jen. Thank you sweetheart, for once again demolishing my fears with a simple touch of your logic. You may not believe in magick, spelled with a "k" or not, but you have certainly proved it's existance to me. And yeah, I guess the truth does always sound drunk. Or you might have just been right the first time.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random