Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Oingo Boingo

2001-06-02

When I was younger, I used to dream about a sort of "hollow earth" idea. It always started in a rather large house. There would be either a downstairs room or a basement. This would have some sort of secret passage that would lead down...way down. Sometimes there would be more rooms. Sometimes just a sewer system type thing first, but from there always a passage further down. Eventually I would be so far down that I would have to use a flashlight to see. For some reason I always thought that there was something very grand to be discovered down there, like an ancient secret or artifact of immense power (a-la comic books like "Dr. Fate"). Sometimes there were dead bodies down there. Usually about the time I found a body, or some minor artifact, the things would discover me. There were times when they were vaugly humaniod, but most of the time I wasn't quite sure what they looked like. I did know that they needed very little light to see, as a candle was as bright as a 75 watt bulb to them. Sometimes I would find a particularly dark place with lots of obsticles to hide in and turned off my flashlight. This was almost always a really bad idea. I would be enveloped in blackness, as if I were unconscious. There I would be...with no ability to see at all, and fully aware in all other aspects. I was always so certain that they wanted to kill me, in order to keep anyone from knowing about them. Every now and again, they would find me, and I would wake up.

I had this dream again last night, turns out that they just wanted to drink with me... it seems my jolly drunkeness is legendary in the hollow earth of my imagination. I just wish I had known they were this nice earlier...

~MattMagus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random