Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
htrgjfdtjn

2003-09-16

For those of you just starting to read my diary, I have developed two froms of poetry. The "penultimate" haiku, which is a seventeen stanza poem where each stanza is a haiku. This I have already attempted, although I must admit the first try was rather shabby. If one were so bold, one could even add in a rhyme scheme to it, but since I always sound unnatural reading things that rhyme, I have yet to try this, but theoretically (for anyone who actually wishes to attempt this) the rhyme scheme should go something like this:

A
A
B

C
C
B

D
D
B
etc;Another one I've created, although never attempted is the "ultimate haiku", which is for those who prefer Walt Whitman length poetry. It is a seventeen part poem, in which each part is a "penultimate haiku". There are two ways one can handle the rhyme scheme, one is to have "c" be constant, we will call this "ultimate Haiku, type A". The other is to have "C" change from part to part, which we will call "type B". Or of course, you don't have to have a rhyme scheme at all, which won't even have a type, since Haiku don't have one. I would like to attempt this someday, but considering how much energy would have to go into writing it (not to mention time), I seriously doubt it will ever get accomplished by me.

The reason I'm telling you all of this, other then the obvious need to set it down on record, is because I'm going to be working on "PH" poems for the next couple of days, and maybe a few of them will get put up here. That is only, of course, if I deem them good enough, I really don't want to put up anything as bad as the last one I did.

There are three reasons why most of what I write is in free-verse form. The first is obviously that I'm just plain lazy. The second is that, as I've stated before, I sound completely unatural reading something that rhymes or has form to it, although I'm begining to see that this can be overcome, with enough practice. The third reason is that I don't see using a pre-concieved form, unless invented by the writer, to do any good for a poet. Sure, it may take some little amount of skill to write a Shakespearean Sonnett, and perhaps every aspireing poet should write one, just to prove to himself that he can (I have, when I was 16 or 17), but other then that, you are just copying someone else's form, and that does no good for the poet himself, in my eyes. The advantage to someone else writing the "U.H.", is that no one, not even the theoretical inventer, has actually done it, yet.

That's enough ranting for now...hopefully I'll have new poems for you soon.

~Matt

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random