Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Sleepy Silhouettes

2003-11-20

We both have our little games
You and I
We play them well
Perhaps a little too well
It's almost like
We were both blindfolded
And trying to reach each other
From across the room
Trying to see if we could
Each handle having a flashback
Without having to attach meaning to it
Or future
Or anything else

I know you
Are worried about hurting me
Or me getting all
Stupid
And pining away for you
But neither am I worried
Nor am I
Lamenting something that can't happen
Not this time anyway
I could tell you why
But we both have our little games
And this one is my favorite

-------------------------------------

Yay! Crappy poems are sometimes for writing about things that you can't speak plainly about, because not everyone understands why things are the way they are.

Now on to my update about last night and the featured reading that occured.

First, I would like to say that this is probably the best overall featured reading we've ever had. I say this because never before have we had a featured reading that not only included "damn" good poets (we've had plenty of those), but also included a variety of styles in each poet, sometimes even from piece to piece in the same poet.

The featured poets (going under the accurate but very funny billing of "The Monsters of Poetry") were Daled, Carlos Mena, Nazelah Jamison, Morris Stegosausus, and this years' Individual National Slam Champion, the Mighty Mike Mcgee. I can't even express how wonderful this reading was. The way we did this reading was, the featured readers all got up and did one "teaser" poem, then we did the first half of the open mic list, they got back up then and did the feature, and then we finished with the last half of the reading.

It's kind of funny though. During the "teaser" poems, the one that impressed me the least was Mr. Mcgee. I actually found myself thinking, "This is the guy who won Nationals?" As it turns out, however, the more he went on, the more impressed I got. Even by the end of the reading though, I thought that Nazelah had outdone him. Then I went to Denny's and read what he didn't perform, and that's when my jaw dropped. The pieces he has in his chapbook are some of the most amazing poems I think I've ever read. Absolutely fucking fabulous work!

Okay, I'm done now.

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random