Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Answering some questions

2003-06-12

Looks I've got a few questions I have to answer from some of you. Let's tackle the easist one first. Yes, I like the Coldplay songs that I've heard, although "Yellow" has gotten to the point where it is definitely overplayed. I have a few of their songs on my computer at home, as a matter of fact. While they aren't my favorite musicians in the world, I enjoy them quite a bit nonetheless. I think my profile is a pretty good indicator of what I listen to, but I'm also a biut more eclectic then it shows. If there was room to add Nick Cave, Ozzy/Sabbath, And One, The Beatles, and about a thousand others, then maybe it would be a little better, but there are way too many for that little profile to handle.

The next question is one I've never gotten before, but certainly relevant. I've not actually read that particular book, but I will most likely be picking it up soon. I actually chose my nom de plume from the dictionary when I was very young and aspiring to be both an actor and musician. I decided I needed a stage name with alliteration, so I opened up the dictionary and pointed randomly in the "m" section, and there was magus. I was fifteen, and the definition said it all for me (1:Wizard or 2:Wise man. Singlular of Magi. That was as exactly as I remember it as it was in my little dictionary). I remember thinking, well I'm trying to be a little of both, so I'll go with that.

There have been times that other occultists have accused me of hubris for choosing that name, but I did so with no previous knowledge of any grade system of any Order, and because it was something that was I was aspireing to become which as I recall, is what a "magickal name", or "oath" is supposed to be. In my defense, I cannot think of a better pen name for anyone, since in most of the modern systems "magus" is the grade where one creates "the word". At any rate, for those of you who may be reading this who are a part of some occult community of another, I don't claim this grade, or any other grade for that matter, since I am not officially part of any organization, unless you count the "Order of Xeno", and I prefer to think of that one as a "lack of" organization, but that's enough of my rambling for now. Hopefully I'll have that new poem for you before the end of the day...

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random