Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
more quotes from my current reading material

2003-09-06

Tonight's entry will be short, because I have little time and patience for much right now, especially myself. I just wanted to share a few more quotes from The Confessions of Aleister Crowley.

"Men and women will never behave worthily as long as current morality interferes with the legitimate satisfaction of psychological needs"

"Nature always avenges herself on those who insult her"

"I was allowed to read Tennyson and Longfellow, but it is impossible to class them as poets. The emasculation of all the characters digusted me beyond measure. Their very sins are suburban."

"Paganism is wholesome because it faces the facts of life; but I was not allowed to take a normal veiw on nature"

"I have always had a passionate yearning for mankind, wholesale and retail, but I cannot endure to have them anywhere around. It is a very peculiar psychology; yet it is frequently found among poets. We are lonely and suffer instensely on that account. We are prepared to love any and every speciman of humanity in himself, for himself, and by himself; but even a dinner party gets on our nerves."

---------------------------------------

One more quote from Doyle

--------------------------------------------

"It is the German who is so uncourteous with his verbs"
~From A Scandle In Bohemia

~Matt

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random