Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
A short diatribe on my thoughts on Liber AL vel Legis

2003-06-24

I've was thinking about Liber Legis last night, and I realized what something in there means. "The word of sin is Restriction." I'm sure that a lot of people think that this is supposed to mean that one should not limit one's experiances to those that are deemed ok by society, but I disagree. I don't think it means that at all. I think it means that one should not limit the potential of anything, especially oneself. In that way, perhaps it means that I shouldn't even call myself a Thelemite, as this is labeling myself and by placing labels on anything we limit what it is, and what it has potential to become. This is the real reason behind not making "graven images" in the Torah. Because by giving the Creator (should I even call It that?) an image you are limiting what it can be to you. This is of course offensive to It because It has the freedom to show Itself in anything at any time, and having to conform to a shape conceaved by Its creation would not only be stiffling but insulting as well. That's another reason that any good occultist will tell you that the names and faces by which the call thier version of Deity are arbitrary, because while they work with specific aspects of the Divine they know that these are not the limits of the Creative Essence. In fact, the reason for working with these other aspects in general is to be able to see the whole better, one digestable piece at a time. Well, at least, that's the reason that people like me do, I suppose I shouldn't try to speak for someone who is on a different path then I am. I barely understand the one I'm on, but I'm making progress. As always folks, these are just my thoughts on the subject, and I could very well be wrong. I make no claims to knowing anything at all.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random