Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
jbnklbkl

2003-08-14

I'm sorry for the lack of updates, especially the lack of poetry. The past has been catching up with me, one person at a time. Mostly I find it odd, but I'm going to be hanging out with some people tonight who I haven't seen in over four years. The one I've known the longest is married now, and has a child on the way. Mind you that he is naming the child one of the dumbest things I've ever heard, "Shintoro Maximus Young". Ok, Shintoro, I can see since the child has a Japanese heritage through it's mother, but "Maximus"? For fuck's sake, that's the dumbest middle name I can think of. Not only do you have what sounds like the worst clash of east and west ever in the combination of names, but naming someone of thing "Maximus" is wishfull thinking at best. Mostly it's just stupid, especially considering schoolchildren. They are going to have so much fun with that kids name. Perhaps Josh has forgotten in his old age that he himself used to get picked on a lot. Perhaps he has forgotten that I used to help him out when we were in middle school, and the other kids would pick on him. I suppose I should say that we helped each other out, but I can't think of an instance of that happening right now, although I'm fairly certain it must have. Sorry if this update seems a little disjointed, but such is my state of mind right now.

The reading last night was really good. We had a featured poet who showed up that day, and everyone was coming out of the woodwork. I read the poem that I posted the other day (or is that week), and it seemed to be recieved well. Tapesty said I got a "damn", but I didn't hear it. Personally however, I think the best audience response is when they don't know how to respond, so they are just silent. Then after they've had time to let it sift through thier heads for a few minutes, I always have people come up to me and tell me how great it was. Usually after they realize that the poem didn't mean what they first thought it did. That kind of stuff that makes me happy. I love confusing my audience.

That's enough of this crap for now, hopefully tomorrow I'll remember to bring my notebook with me and I can type up the new poetry.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random