Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
ummm...this is what I think about sometimes

2003-06-05

Bah, I feel pretty crappy right about now. The big show at Galileo was last night, and I really wasn't into it at all. (no, it wasn't because you were there, I was feeling that way before the reading, in fact, it was very nice to see you, I just wish I could have been better company). Mainly I think it was because I have been really lazy and haven't written much that's new, and my older stuff seemed to really suck, unless I've read it a hundred million times, and even then, most of those still suck. Today is appearantly the day of the run-on sentence. Not that I really care, I don't write here to be grammatically correct. I write here to keep a journal of thoughts and poems that I consider to be a work in progress. More then anything though, I write here because I have to write somewhere, and typing is much faster then writing, expecially when you aren't concerned with mistakes.

I've been looking at the SOHO telescope images of the sun lately and thinking a lot about solar winds and whatnot. Now maybe it's the sci-fi geek in me trying to take over for a little while, but couldn't they harness the power from those ejected solar particles in much the same way as the Hoover Dam, except to power something like a space station or something, expecially if it sat at one of those langrange points. They could send a ship up every now and again to refill it with liquid propellant, which would be used for maintaining orbit, some oxygen and other supplies, but other then that couldn't they harness these solar winds to make this station self-sufficiant as far as power goes. In fact if it weren't for entropy, it could even maintain itself indefinitely. I suppose it would only be a matter of making the ship itself somehow sturdy enough to keep particles out of the hull itself, as well as study enough to withstand the winds, as well as maintaining some part of itself that the wind can "blow" though to generate power, and making the necessary moving parts strong enough to withstand the movement. There are probably more problems that I, not being a proper scientist, cannot see, but the idea is novel at any rate, if completely impractical. Another problem would be creating batteries big enough to store the extra energy that would be neccessary during those times when the solar winds die down. At any rate, that's enough of my nonsense for now.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random