Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Not sure where this is leading, but I'm done following it

2003-06-19

Well, Medina's...er, I mean Galileo was really great last night. Bob hosted for the first time in a while, and the audience was actually kind of respectful, at least for the first half. That's one of the reasons I try to go early on the list, because the later you go, the drunker and louder everyone is, and that's just distracting to the poets and the people who are actually trying to listen. I think a lot of people just go to listen to the "established poets" there, myself included, and when they aren't on stage, most people just don't pay attention. That's really shitty, because there are a lot of really good poets who are quiet because they are new and nervous, or just haven't learned how to "perform" thier poetry yet, but are still just as good as some of the people who have been doing this for years. Heck, believe it or not, Willis Dyer used to be really shy and quiet, and then one day, BOOM, he stopped holding back and became one of the best all around poet-performers I've ever seen, without "dumbing" down his poetry, as so many other people have done to get better audience reactions, myself included sometimes. I usually do it out of frustration, because people say I'm too "cosmic", or whatever. While I can kind of see where they are coming from, because I have a weakness for trying to describe "large" concepts in "down-to-earth" terms, usually failing miserably, it's not like that's the only thing I do, and I haven't even really done that lately. More then anything though, all I'm really trying to do with my poetry is to catch pieces of myself on paper, and those things are a large part of who I am. My hope is that one day, I'll have done a good enough job that with a handful of poems, a person can read them and see my life, experiance my life through thier own eyes. While I do sometimes write "fictional character" pieces, these are done, more then anything else, because sometimes I get glimpses of what life might be like for someone else, and I want to try to capture that for posterity. It is after all, part of what it's like to be me. Same thing with my "horror flick" type poems, where I become the villian of a bad horror movie for a moment. What can I say, I grew up watching them, and they are still one of my favorite things on the planet. By now you must be asking yourself, "was there a point to any of this?", and the only honest answer is that there may have been at one when I first started this entry, but I lost it a long time ago. Like so many other things, it was gone before I knew what happened, but that's the way I like it.

~Matt Magus

P.S. I'm nowhere near done adding people to my links page, I think I'm also going to add sixsixfive, because I enjoy the content.

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random