Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Excuses, excuses

2003-06-13

Well, 24 hours have come and gone, and I still have no new poetry for you. Am I lazy or what? I could justify it by telling you that I really have a hard time writing poetry at work. I could even go so far as to theorize that it's because there are no windows to the outside world, and that in this little bunker of a building I'm cut off from any possible inspiration. I could even let you know how I spend my time after work, mainly just trying to relax after work. I could do all of this, but these are all just excuses. There may not be any nature around me, but I have all the inspiration I need already inside my head, waiting for me to let it loose. I could write a poem about how the upcoming tax cuts are a bad idea, when our economy is in the crapper from previous tax cuts and a whole lot of warring, and how there's no end in sight of either. I could write yet another unrequited love poem about Emmy, or any one of a thousand other people. I could write yet another post-relationship-reflection poem about Jen or Micha. The only problem is that I've done all of these things to death. I could write about mystisicm, but I've done that far beyond the point I should be able to with my limited spiritual advancement. I'm could do another background piece, but I have no new places to write about. I need new experiences to draw from...it's just a matter of finding them, either from inside myself or from some external stimuli. One requires being alone, which I almost never am these days. The other requires getting out and away, something I have neither the time or the money to do. I'm actually looking forward to the Fourth of July, because we always have a get together at Jack Craddock's place, and that is always inspiring. Right now there is a banner add at the top of my screen that disturbs me, not because of the blatantly obvious sexual intention of the add, but because the woman in the picture looks like someone I used to know, although vaugly, escpecially as I had never had that kind of view of her...freaks me out a little.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random