Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
book review, sort of

2003-11-07

I hope you'll excuse the silence. Reading the latest Dark Tower book, and feel like such a geek for doing so. I have to admit that I'm really fond of the series, despite the fact that the last Steven King book I really liked (that I've read, and that wasn't part of this series) was probably The Stand, or maybe Needful Things. I'm not sure which came out later. As most of you probably know by now The Dark Tower ties in with The Stand and also Eyes of the Dragon (and now, if you've read both of those but never the DT series, you can probably guess how), but now there is also a tie-in with Salem's Lot as well. I won't tell you in what way they tie in, I would rather leave that as a suprise for you to discover on your own. There are other obviously less-important (at least for now) tie-ins as well, I'm sure, such as the Tower itself being the same place that The Talisman resided in the book of the same name, but I'm pretty sure I would have to go and read all of King's books again to get them all. So far, Wolves of the Calla (the latest DT book), really delivers all the things I've loved about the series, including the great mix up of genres and cultures that makes one kind of dizzy, and I have to say that Roland, the one character who started out kind of two-dimensionally, has really rounded out, although still larger then life, as he should be. Jake, Eddie, and Suzanna (or whoever ;)), while never really having been two dimensional, have grown even more as characters, which is certainly saying something for King's ability to write people, which has always been one of his strongest points. Even Oy is developing something of a personality that I didn't expect, he is very "realistic" as a pet that can talk and almost seems to think on a human level, but you are never quite sure. I'm sure most of you have had pets that you sometimes thought understood everything you were saying and seemed to look at you with an intelligence all thier own, I know I have, and the billy-bumbler is written very similarly, except that it mimics speech as well, which adds an extra cute-eerieness to that concept. That's all for now.

I really, really have a lot of frustration that I need to take out on a wall or something....

2 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random