Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Calcutta Calypso, American Armory

2003-09-26

Some of the older
And supposedly oh-so "wiser
Of my contemporaries
Have accused me of idealism
Which they see as the great sin of youth
Where it that this
Was my only sin
I would surely be fit
For the cannonization
With which I've been threatened
And if indeed
Idealism IS a sin
Then I would happily
Burn in that eternal, infernal pit
That I do not believe in
Yet have also been threatened with

This "sin" has taken
Acceptance,
which was once taboo
And bigory,
which was once the norm
And made them switch places

This "sin"has built
And destroyed empires
This "sin" has given rise
To every cultural revolution
That has ever existed

Idealism built the country
In which I now stand
And some day
Idealism may destroy it
If those in charge
Continue to try to stagnate
Societal evolution

They naturally fear idealism
They mock it
And tell others to do the same
But if they took the time
To just listen
And follow the gentle nudges of its current
They would find that
What they fear
Is nothing more
Then passing spectors in
The darkness of their own minds

But instead they try
To build a dam around it
To contain its tides
Never realizing
That all they are really doing
Is building up pressure
Until eventually
That dam must break
Under the strain
And idealism will flood
All that they have built
When if they had
Simply let it run it's course
They would have been
Safe all along

~Matt Magus

--------------------------------------

So no P.H.'s so far have been good enough to put up here, but I wrote this free-verse bit toward the end of last week, and have been rather lazy about putting it up here (as if that comes as any suprise to anyone).

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random