Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
gdjmgkmjf

2003-12-09

So, I did the banners thing again, mainly just to get rid of them. I suppose I should probably say something interesting, but you'll just have to deal with me being the way I always am.

My stomach is really acting up this morning, but I suppose that's what I get for leaving the damn Pepcid in the car.

A big problem with most, if not all religions is the idea that because something is divinely inspired, that it is infallable. First of all, this is not only bad logic, it is presumptous and leads to errors. Like the idea that if something seems to contradict someones interpretation of a religious experiance of text, then that thing must be false. This is a horrendously stupid notion. First of all, you have the problem of communication between Deity and human, which is caused from Deity thinking on such a different level then humanity that it has a hard time simplifying what it is trying to say. So it uses symbols. The problem is, that people tend to take some of the symbols as literal truth, or they misinterpret them. In the process, they feel that thier interpretation, being a sort of divine inspiration (although not really), has to be correct. Then if anything contradicts what they believe to be true, they attack it.

The fact is that, because each religious experiance is personal, and because we are fallable people, no two people's beliefs are going to be exactly the same. This does not mean that different viewpoints from your own, even seemingly contradictory ones, are incorrect. Deity is a large concept and in itself can contain many things that seem to be opposing, and there is always the possiblity that you've got it wrong, or that I do. Never let your ego make you think you are absolutely correct when it comes to religion, you may get yourself into trouble that way.

~Matt Magus

10 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random