Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Interplanetary Poop

2001-10-18

This is not about you
I'm sure you'll think it is
Because your ego is too big
And your brain too small
To possibly think it's about someone else
This is about those not-so quiet hours
Somewhere between midnight and Two
When my brain just doesn't
Want to let go of conciousness
So it teases me
With ideas that I'm too
Physically tired to write down
Imagry that would shatter the preconcieved
Notions of what poetry should be
Words that can heal the sick
When whispered into thier ears
Prayers that no heaven of man's creation
Could ignore
Songs that could make cynics like myself
Dance hysterically with the knowledge
Of how simple everything really is
Ozzy says he doesn't care if you
Are Jewish, Muslim or any one of the Christian faiths
And I don't think a perfect god
Would care either
In fact I think it
Takes great offence at the condemnation of
One man over another
Just because of a few lines
Written down in a book
By mortal hands and called divine
No matter what language it's written in
I know it gets quite upset with me at times
Because I can tend to do something similar
But at least I'll admit it when I'm
Being hypocritical
And freely tell you that I
Actually know very little
Sometimes I feel
The pull of that
Great creative force
At my back and
Mistake it for the wind
I see that none of us
Really knows what love is
Even me
I can't seem to find it in my heart
Without asking for it in return
If only in my head
And believe me
I've tried
Tried to drown out my lonliness
With small comforting thoughts
Of meta-cosmic spiritual proportions
Yes
I just made that up
But if I were perfect
I probably wouldn't be able
To wear this skin
That I so often feel awkward in
And I wouldn't ever want to
Drown my thoughts and silvery affermations
In a nice bottle of Weller
See
I told you this
Wasn't about you
~MattMagus
p.s. Reading great, Luke Warmwater returned for one night only. Tired and if you don't like it, go and sit on a sword.

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random