Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Trent Spotting

2001-05-26

Here are some random samplings of things that never quite became poems because they suck too much.

----------------------------------------
Stuck in between
The world of nominal perception
And Dream
A voice said to me
"You will die"
I sat up from that
Futon of green lies
And empty cigarette packs
I smiles
And said "I know"
That's our one truth
To know that our death
Is but a step away
Standing on that empty space
Between our conscious
And real selves

-------------------------------

You smile at me
And I remember what Home is like
That feeling of absolute comfort
Intermingling with the dregs and the rich
Because here everyone is equal
Here we can dust off our skeletons
And bring them along for the ride
Our causes no longer matter
Our differences no longer matter
We can interchange
Our laughter and anger
While we remain silent
Or sing along to the jukebox
For a little while we can tame
The alligators in our stomachs
and the gods in our hearts
Meanwhile the tornados in our minds
Can throw around images
And old memories
Let the Hurricanes come!
We can stare down each lightning bolt
And cast aside the rain with
Subtle words of love

-----------------------------------

I think I'm actually a bit fond of that one...maybe I should keep it, e-mail me with your thoughts on it.

---------------------------------------

The cop was staring at me
But I think I made him nervous
I love having that ability
To sing just a few key lines
From this song
Just loud enough
For him to catch a few words
And look like I mean them
He starts to squirm
Just so he knows that I'm
Not the guy to fuck with tonight
There are powers
That his badge cannot save him from
It's good to remind them of that
Every now and again

--------------------------------------

I don't like that, if I worked on it there might be potential in the idea...but I don't think I will, at least not anytime soon...I've got a bigger poem to write...sorry for the crappiness of this entry...I'll try to do better next time.

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random