Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Err, this is me talking about stuff that will bore almost anyone else to death...again.

2010-11-15

For the last several months I have been thinking about the challenge in
Liber Legis
to come up with an English Qaballa, and the many people over the years who have claimed to do just that. Usually these folks showed no more proof then thier names meaning something terribly important. As far as I'm concerned this automatically disqualifies certain people, because it becomes very clear that they have "twisted facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts", as was said in that little Sherlock Holmes movie (which wasn't a bad attempt at all).

I do not believe in any way that I am Old Crow's Magickal Childe, or the "one which will come after". Nope none of that nonsense here. In fact, I believe that there may be many Childeren, in fact(yes, that is an intentional misspell, something to make fun of all of us that use alternate spellings of words, in our pretentiousness, to convey "special" ideas. Most of which are of the "'Special' Olympics" variety.). I, being the kind of idiot I am, however, have a few theories, for whomever finally cracks that dreaded English QBL.

First off, I think the biggest problem that faces most of the failures of the past is that they were coming at the problem from the wrong angle. Being in such a hurry to prove that they are somebody special, they focus only on the Gamatiral (is this even a word?) aspect of it. The problem is, that this isn't at all what the BOTL asks for. It seems that we should probably start at the fundamentals of the QBL. Particularly with the OTZ CHIM, or "Tree of Life", and how the English Alphabet fits onto it. I'm really surprised that I haven't come across it in my readings, as the answer seems pretty simple. Because there are 26 letters in English and 22 letters in Hebrew is seems that no one wants to play this game, but if you place them, in order on the ToL you are left with four w,x,y, and z, which could each be attributed to the four worlds, possibly backwards, so that w is action, and z is formation, thus making a sort of rudimentary circuit. This order can probably be played around with a bit, as it is currently just a theory, but I believe it is at least on the right track. As I experiment with the possibilities in the future, I should eventually be able to figure out what exactly goes where and why, but this is the basis which I am starting from. Of course, I won't be able to tell you folks the results, if anyone still reads this garbage, because of the whole "keep silent" bit. Anyone who wishes to experiment with these themselves, however, should be able to figure the proper order out. Or, at least, the proper order for themselves.

Once we eventually have the proper places on the Tree of Life, experience will have shown us most of the proper associations, and tradition will fill in the rest. Remember, in order for this to work it has to be consistent with what we already know, not mealy the traditions alone, but what we have learned along our own paths that may differ from historical associations. Thus, I imagine that there will never be a final "English QBL", but may varied personal ones. Most of these will probably match up around most points, but I imagine that there will be variations.

This leaves the numeric system. There are a variety of them out there, from the 1-9 systems that most folks use for talismantic purposes, to as complex as you wish to get. If this hasn't already been thought of (and it probably has!) I would like to add one more possibility. Mind you I haven't even tried it out yet, but am looking forward to making the attempt. Again, the inspiration for this comes from what came before, mostly for internal consistency, and because Theosophical Reduction has always left a bad taste in my mouth. in my system a-i=1-9, j-r=10-90, s-z=100-800, if one wanted to, one could even take the capitol letters and make them equal 1000x the value of the lower case.

Of course, I fully expect that none of this will work out in the end, but it's at least a starting point that someone more evolved or involved might make into the real English QBL. Should that occur, I will be satisfied with having a small role in the evolution for the search.

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random