Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
umm...this is pretty...yeah...all over the place...

2002-12-26

Christmas was ok, I suppose. I really don't have anything much to say about it. There was nothing particularly special about it, but that's kind of the way I like it. Just a day off, that presents happen to be exchanged on. I didn't get anything that I'm all that excited about, but that's not the point, so that's alright. The gifts I was able to give took time and thought, and were much appriciated, so that's good. Now it's Boxing Day for those that live in the UK and Canada. I know that there are a couple of people who ocassionally look at this site from the UK, so my question to you is; What exactly is Boxing Day? I'm asking mainly because I've never been informed of what that is. Is it to commemorate the Boxing(er?) rebellion? Or do you just all like to take the day to go see a match? As far as the rebellion goes, I don't remember anything about it except a name in the back of my head, that's filed somewhere in the history dept, but there are no details available to my conscious mind. You see, one of the reasons why Americans seem so concieted is that we are raised and educated to be. We have tons of mostly incorrect data about American History pounded into our skulls during our school years, yet we only barely touch on the rest of the world. So as you can see, we are raised with a mis-proportioned self-importance about our country. It's probably similar in other countries if you really think about it, but probably not to the extent that it is here. For example, while I'm sure that the English spend the same amount of time studying thier own history, that country has existed much longer then the paltry 200+ years that the US has been a country. Most of the time for American schoolchildren however seems to be first spent in feeding them lies and legends to make them patriotic, and then slowley giving them glimpses of the truth. For example, you have no idea how many people think that our Civil War was fought because of slavery, when in fact, in it's begining slavery had nothing at all to do with it. Whoops, look how far off track I've gotten. At any rate, the point is, if you can give me any information about Boxing Day, and/or point me to a resource where I can learn more about it, that would be greatly appreciated.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random