Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
An Open Letter to Allen Moore

2008-01-03

Dear Mr. Moore;

I'm sorry, Allen,
But it seems like my countrymen
Don't care about truth
Or justice, for that matter.
Only that America has it's way
With every country that we can get to bend over.
You can see what happens to those that dare say "no"
The only real journalists
Were set up to be discredited years ago
While others hold thier tounges
Fearing what will happen should they dare speak up.
So instead of journalists
We have these deplorable creatures called "pundits"
Which is just a term for "spin-doctors"
Who don't actually have an office on Pennsylvania Ave.
Or else we get our "news" from comedy shows
Because if we don't make jokes about it
Then the betrayal hurts too damn much

The oath to our highest office swears
"To uphold and defend The Constitution of the United States of America"
And yet,
The current administration
Has attacked and chipped away at it
At every availible opportunity.
Telling us,
In a perfectlly Orwellian accent
That they are defending our freedoms
I tell you, Allen,
I never realized that 1984 sounded so Texan,
Even if it did arrive a little later then first thought.

These people seem like such imbeciles sometimes,
And yet you would be astounded at how good they are at misdirection.
Every time the opposition starts to get organized and up-in-arms
About their Geneva-toned crimes
They throw out someting like
A proposed constitutional amendment banning gay marriage
To get us focused on
Some other topic.
Anything to distract us
While they spend this country broke
Making millions for themselves
In the process.

I have been silent for a long time,
Because I was tired of only empty air to echo me,
And sometimes I feel
Like I have nothing to say
That someone else can't or hasn't said better
Bill Hicks, in particular comes to mind
Even though he was talking about someone with an extra middle name
Most of it still applies to the son
Who echos his father
Like an aftershock
That is more violent then the initial earthquake

You may have noticed that I have decided
To give up on punctuation
That is what this topic has
Made me feel like doing for years now

Day by day
The chicanery grows more tiresome
And maddening
Though not in a controlled way.

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random