Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
ghdnfbgnfbj

2003-08-25

Emily is leaving to live in Dallas for a while on Wednesday. I was origionally told this by Matt Keepers, who asked if I was "ready for some bad news". Really though, this isn't all that bad. It's just Dallas, three hours away only. Also considering the reason she's going down there I can't say as I would do any differerent. It seems that one of her grandparents have fallen ill, and she's going down there to help out. How any of this is all that bad, I don't know. Sure I'll miss her, but sometimes a person just has to do something. Besides, I barely saw her while she was in town (this, of course, is at least partially my fault, if not mostly, but the few times I did try to get a hold of her she was always already busy, or she had her phone off). At any rate, I will miss her, but it's not like this is the first time she has moved away, and it's not like she wasn't both planning on going to Europe soon, and then attending school in either New Orleans or San Francisco. We all knew a while ago that this would be a limited stay, we just didn't realize quite how limited.

She and Marrisa came over to see the new apartment last night, and other then my ineptitude where decorating comes into play, they liked the place. Right now I'm supposed to be trying to scare off my neighbors so that I can get Marrissa and some of our other friends into the building. I told them not to worry, because the nightly rituals will begin soon, and well, most people are a little freaked out by chanting.

As a joke on myself I almost concluded this entry with the lyrics to "Every Little Thing She Does is Magic" by The Police, but I thought that; a. That would be a little juvenile, even if ment to be funny and, b. Everyone who reads this diary should already be familiar enough with that song to get the joke without it cutting and pasting the lyrics. So laugh. For fuck's sake, laugh! It's funny, really! Ok. Maybe it's not quite so funny, really, more like...utterly pathetic. So here in it's stead, I will post other lyrics.

I Lost On Jeopardy

by Al Yankovic

Note: Italisized lyrics are spoken by Don Pardo.

Oh-oh-oh-oh

I was there to match my intellect on national TV
Against a plumber, oh, and an architect, both with a PhD
I was tense, I was nervous, I guess it just wasn't my night
Art Fleming gave the answers
Oh, but I couldn't get the questions right, -ight, -ight
I lost on Jeopardy, baby (oooh)
I lost on Jeopardy, baby (oooh)
Well, I knew I was in trouble now
My hope of winning sank
Oh, 'cause I got the Daily Double now
And then my mind went blank
I took Potpourri for one hundred
And then my head started to spin
Well, I'm givin' up Don Pardo
Just tell me now what I didn't win, yeah, yeah

I lost on Jeopardy, baby (oooh)
I lost on Jeopardy, baby (oooh)

That's right, Al--You lost. And let me tell you what you didn't win: a twenty colume set of the Encyclopedia International, a case of Turtle Wax, and a year's supply of Rice-A-Roni, the San Francisco Treat. But that's not all. You also made yourself look like a jerk in front of millions of people. You brought shame and disgrace to your family name for generations to come. You don't get to come back tomorrow. You don't even get a lousy copy of our home game. You're a complete loser!

Don't know what I was thinkin' of
I guess I just wasn't too bright
Well, I sure hope I do better
Next weekend on The Price Is Right, -ight, -ight
I lost on Jeopardy, baby (oooh)
I lost on Jeopardy, baby (oooh)
I lost on Jeopardy, baby

~Matt Magus

Well, I had to get you to laugh somehow...

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random