Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
Insolent Insulation

2003-09-12

The weather reminds me of
The Bay Area
Except there's no ocean
And the only fog
Is in my brain
And for a split-second
I'm a kid again
Greeting strangers with the certainty
That I will learn new things from them
And every new day
Like a sacrament
The very air around me
Being the flesh of God
So that mearly breathing was a holy act
There were no impossibilities
Or contradictions
And love
Had no double-thorns
Of selfishness attached
Ra never shined too bright
And the night was never too cold
Or so it seemsStrange effect on memory
For in these revalries I forgot
The screams of my parents
The mind games of the one sister
And the violence of the other
The blood pouring out of my feet
From the shattered glass along my street
The kids down the way
Who threw rocks at me
For no better reason then thier own amusement
Yeah
Time sure likes to place
The blindfold of nostalgia
Over your memories eyes

All of these things I remember
Must have seemed so horrible
To the little boy
I can no longer associate
As being me
But I see it now and laugh
Because they don't realize
That all of that
Just helped to make me
And people wonder...

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random