Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
background on Twain Hart

2005-05-28

There is nothing quite like the effect that redwoods have on you when you're young. Because of the size relation, you can almost understand what the legs of God must be like (if It had them). Seeing something so much bigger then anything else gives you an idea of what infinity is. It is the most humbling thing I can think of. Even mountains themselves don't quite get the point across, because for all thier granduer, they are terrain to be climbed and walked on, whearas a tree as large as a redwood seems unscalable. Especially to a child, who is used to trees that can be conquered.

Welcome to my favorite memory of childhood, where any lumberjack brave enough to cut one of these giants down was a living superhero. When the mountains had a very understandable language, if you took the time to listen, and I often had more time then I knew what to do with, so I listened. Fruits and berries of all verieties grew wild everywhere I looked.

Mind you, the video games of the time were crap compared to what we have now, but there was too much exploring to do to be worried about that sort of thing anyway, and not that I knew it, but my parents really didn't have enough money to buy an atari anyway. I didn't realize I was missing anything. Every now and again I would run across someone who had a Colecovision, even one time someone with a atari 3600 (short lived as that was), but I didn't really think about it much. Besides, there was a pretty good arcade in town two measly miles away, with better games then they could put on the home systems.

(To be continued if I feel like it)

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random