Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
A response to the insurgence of comments

2003-12-16

I'm happy that those of you who chose to comment on the last entry did so, even the ones who disagree with me. While I would so love to debate some of you about this subject, I don't really have time for that sort of thing right now, nor is a diary a good place to hold a debate. A message board would be better. I will say this much:

to "who cares": You need to lighten up. I never said anything about not defending your beliefs, that would be fine. You just shouldn't attack others because they believe differently then you do. It is people like this who start religious wars, who commit atrocities in the name of "God" or "Allah" or whatever name they choose to call thier higher power. The fact is, evil deeds are evil deeds, even if done in the name of your religion. People who commit acts of violence under the guise of Divine Providence are cowards who can't admit that they are doing these things because they secretly enjoy them. If I were a better person, I would feel sorry for them, but I'm not.

To Rebecca:If I had all of religion figured out I probably wouldn't be human, and I will be the first to admit that I could be wrong, although my theories make sense to me. If they have offended you, then I've probably touched on a truth that you do not want to admit to yourself, that YOU could be wrong about some things. If not, and you think I'm just a silly bugger, then you should be alright.

As far as "Jesus Freaks" go, anyone who is a good Christian wouldn't be offended by being called such a thing, as in essence any truly religious person is a "freak" for thier religion. It should be considered a compliment. You can call the a "Thelema Freak" or a "Crowley Freak" and you wouldn't be far from the mark.

Nate: Don't worry about it, you're a Chicken Cabbalist. (as Lon DuQuette would say), you aren't going to be perfect. If you were, you would be God. At the same time as you forgive yourself for it, remember your follies and work on correcting them the best way you can. This dicotomy is a hard balance to achieve, and I myself haven't been able to reach it yet, but I have a feeling that you can, and will.

To everyone:Thank you and have a happy holiday season. Merry Christmas, Happy Chanuka, Gracious Ramadan, Yummy(?) Yule, and Joyous Kwanza.

Much love and other hippy bullshit;

Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random