Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
jumpin' jeheshuvah bn joseph, this took way too long to type

2003-11-17

When I was younger, I wanted to write horror fiction. It's funny that I kept that dream alive in my mind into adulthood, even though I never really did much to work toward it. In fact, it was only a few years ago that I decided to focus my imagination on poetry, and while I'm far from being a professional poet, I've done a lot more work toward it then I ever did with fiction. Including publishing the first book and the work I've done on the second.

I remember one of the first stories I was ever going to write. It was actually ment to be a trilogy, although I don't remember anything at all about the second part.

The plot was fairly simple. Book 1 was going to open on a small town where some kids (loosely based on myself and some of my friends) discover that some ritual murders are going on in thier neighborhood. The purpose of these murders was supposedly to appease some unknown death god and to make the murderer the incarnation of the Reaper. An Avatar of Death if you will.

The first encounter ends with one of the kids being decapitated with the scythe (cheesy, but remember, this person is supposed to be an avatar of the traditional Reaper). After a brief encounter with the police, who serve to do little more then add comic relief, the kids decide that they are going to stop this guy for the sake of thier now deceased friend, John.

One of them, who happens to be the narrator of the story (imagine that) comes across an ancient talisman, and a book describing the ritual for becoming the avatar of death, and how to stop it. He is guided to these things in a used curios shop he has never noticed before, as if by fate (or by the hand of a bad storyteller).

At any rate, the climax comes when the kids break up the ritual, but not before some of the Reaper's power is bestowed upon the murderer.

The ending is pretty simple, the Reaper gets away, although a little worse for wear, thanks to the talisman, and the kids vow to persue him.

The second book, I believe was to be set in Ancient Egypt, instead of the Reaper, the villain is an avatar of Set. That's all I really remember about it.

The third and final book was to be set in New York, where they had (in the story), just set up a nuclear power plant. The Avatar naturally is planning on blowing it up and adding enough plutonium to the mix to take out all of upper New England, with fallout problems reaching as far as Florida and the Midwest. (How very comic bookish of me) This, he supposes, will be the first event of the Apokolypse (brought to you by mixed religions Inc., proudly sponsered by Set). At any rate, the story ends with the narrator of the first story (the second and third were to be told in third person, omnisciant), identifies himself with the hero of the second book, (who was a priest of Thoth, or Ra, or something similar), and battles Death(Set) in the power plant at the end, and while the plant meltsdown anyway, he invokes his patron deity to contain the blast and destroy Death/Set's avatar, sacrificing his own life in the process to save millions, just as his predecessor had done (in the second book, amazing how much of it is coming back to me).

Well, that's enough of my rambling right now, I was going to tell you of another story idea that's come to me recently, but I think I've babbled enough. G'night everyone!

~M

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random