Host Old New Book Links Who? Mail
The State-of-the-Magus Address

2002-01-02

Last year
It seemed like
Everyone and everything
Tried really damn hard
To break me
Including me
Yet somehow I stand here
Like the Great Wall itself
Unwilling to fall
To even my own tiger-traps
And even with all the confusion
That continues even now
My head is clearer
Than it has ever been
And probably ever will be
From somewhere behind said organ
I hear the familiar sneer
Of my self-made mentor
Cackling like some bodyless demon
He tells me that
Very soon
I'll be able to face down
All of my neuroses
As Horus met Set in battle
And took revenge
For the slaying of Osirus
And just as Marduk
Slew Tiamaat
In a cascade of arrows and axes
And left the great dragon
In a state of endless sleep
So will I
Conquer my self-doubt
And behead my inner-enemies
Like Heracles beheaded the Hydra
But first
Like Heracles
I have many Great Labors ahead
And each must be faced
And survived
Before my own myth can even
Begin to take shape
I must take on
Each task like a train-wreck
Head-on
No matter how weak I feel
Or my heart will never
Heal from the damage that will occur
But like the great Magi
From aeons past
I will still stand
At the end of it all
And laugh

------------------------------------------------

Here's looking forward to another year of trials and drama of all sorts. Let's hope we all make it through okay.

~Matt Magus

0 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

<<< | >>> | Random